The Iowa Short Fiction Award and the John Simmons Short Fiction Award are annual prizes given to two collections of stories by emerging short fiction writers, which are then published by the University of Iowa Press. Manuscript submissions are managed and juried through the Iowa Writers' Workshop; please click here to learn more about eligibility, and to submit your story collection for consideration. Submissions are accepted between August 1 and September 30. Announcement of the winners will be made early in the following year on our Instagram page and Twitter account.

Submit Now

Series pages

Iowa Short Fiction Award

John Simmons Short Fiction Award

Previous Winners

Potential entrants wishing to read stories by previous winners may order The Iowa Award: The Best Stories from Twenty Years and The Iowa Award: The Best Stories, 1991-2000, both selected by Frank Conroy.